top of page

My Top Ten Helpful Things: Japan


1) Try your best to get accommodation at the dorms for your host school: In Japan, the housing prices are very expensive, so if you stay somewhere other than a dorm, the cost may be higher than you expect.


2) Make sure to download Google Maps: The app is so helpful for getting around anywhere in Japan. Once you get the hang of using the app, you should be able to easily find where to enter the station, which platform to go to, the cost of the commute, which exits to take, and more! I found that Google Maps was the most accurate. Plus, another tip is that if you type in food names in Japanese, different restaurants may appear (in comparison to writing it in English).


3) Carry an umbrella from June to August: The weather starts getting rainy during June, and there may be sudden downpours. It’s good to carry a foldable umbrella in your bag just in case! In July, the weather becomes very hot, so I recommend buying a UV-type umbrella since it reduces some of the heat (and again, very helpful in case of sudden rain).


4) Always ask for help if you are confused about something: If you are in stations, there are station workers that can help you. If they can’t speak English, you can always use Google Translate (I would suggest showing pictures too if you are looking for a specific train or place). If you are lost in the city, I would suggest going into a convenience store and asking a worker for help.


5) Do not over-pack: I brought way too many clothes than I needed, so it took up a lot of room in my suitcase, especially since I brought too much warm clothes. I suggest bringing a mix of clothes, both for cold and warm weather, and buying any additional clothes once you get to Japan and experience the weather for yourself. Once July comes around, it becomes very hot, and I regretted bringing so many pair of jeans and jackets.


6) Remember that most places in Japan take credit cards: It is relatively difficult to open a bank account when you’re a short-term resident, so I would suggest bringing a credit card with you (preferably one without a foreign transaction fee). It is good to bring yen for expenses like transportation cards, as those only can be reloaded with cash, but most other places will take credit cards. But keep in mind that the conversion rate changes for credit cards (depending on which one you use) and that ATM machines also charges fees (so you shouldn’t fully rely on your credit card since the deal at the ATM will most likely be worse than what you could get in Hawai‘i). Plus, another detail to note is that you need to tell your bank that you are going to be in Japan, or else they will lock your card.


7) Get a SIM card for your data plan: I think that the Mobal SIM card was very useful in Japan. I was able to get the 30GB SIM card online. You can order the card while you’re still in Hawai‘i (since it is easy to receive in the mail), then you can activate it and choose the number of GBs you want the day before your flight. After arriving at the airport, you can connect to the airport Wi-Fi and switch out your phone’s SIM card (NOTE: Make sure your phone is off when you remove the SIM card to avoid damaging your phone). The SIM card takes automatic payments, but you can always change the amount of GBs you need. This change will be reflected during the next payment, which is helpful if you leave at the beginning of the month since you can choose a cheaper plan.


8) Take classes that you enjoy: I think picking classes that interest you, even if they are not necessarily for your major, is very useful. I learned so much by exploring the different types of classes that my host school offered. Of course, you need to consider your graduation pathway plan and credit transfers, but, if possible, you should try to include classes you will have fun taking.


9) Try your best to follow the social etiquette and norms: It will take some getting used to, but there are some practices in Japan that you should try to follow. Some of these practices include not talking on the train, not eating/drinking while walking, giving up your seat for the elderly on the trains or buses, standing on the left side of the escalator, wearing the face cover they provide in the dressing rooms when you try something on, and more! It takes a while to get used to these norms, but they are definitely good things to know!


10) Don’t be afraid to try new things: Japan is filled with all types of food, shopping, activities, sightseeing, and more! Whenever my friends found something to do, I would also join in even if it was not something I would normally do. It’s easy to just look for things you enjoy already, but I found that it’s fun to do something completely different. A lot of the time I didn’t really feel like going to a new place, but, once I was there, I felt like I would have missed out on a lot if I didn’t go! It really feels like there’s so much to do with so little time. But I just recommend that you take advantage of all the free time that you have to explore with friends and sometimes just take the scenic route!



Recent Posts

See All

When Leaving Japan :(

Sadly, the study abroad will come to an end. However, you will leave with irreplaceable memories and numerous new experiences! I will guide you through what the process is like during the last week of

bottom of page